danger/u/
This thread is permanently archived
Laptop for studying

| Okay so I know regular consumer laptops suck and such but I only have a little over $500 to spend on getting a laptop so I don't think I have much of a choice. I'm not tech savvy so I don't really know which ones would be alright to get for that price or lower just to help with my studying.

| A1502 2013/2014 13" mbp retina of you want apple
Thinkpad p50/x270 if you want win/linux

| Get a used thinkpad, but one of the older ones. They're almost impossible to destroy and fast enough for your purposes, I guess.

| I'll look into them! Thank you. Any more advice or recommendations are welcomed.

| >>674976 And dirt cheap too.

| >>360713 Where would you recommend to purchase one at?

| Depends on where you live to be honest. Some refurbishing company I guess, not on ebay.

| like if you are good in linux maybe you can try a pinebook pro but you need experience else id suggest anything from dell really.

| >>fac00b Yeah I don't have much experience with computers/laptops. I'll look into Dell.

| >>674976
This.
You can't ever go wrong with used thinkpad. Just find a model that suits your need.
Been using T420 for years and it's still buttery smooth for everyday tasks and some light-to-moderate gaming today. I really love the keyboard.
But I'd say the 3rd/4th gen (XX30/XX40) would be more futureproof.

| The most useful thing about those used thinkpads is... you don't have to worry if you drop it or hit a corner with it... The thinkpad does not care. Btw, grab one with a ssd! It's a pure bliss instead of hdds.

| the positive things said about thinkpads really apply to the vast majority of old laptops, there really is no reason i know of to favor thinkpads over all the other refurbished decade old laptops

| Oh, there is. They're more readily avaiable, making them cheaper. :)