danger/u/
This thread is permanently archived
Am I "fake"?

| So, in music, and especially rap, there are a lot of people who talk about people being "fake", as in talking about or claiming to have done stuff they haven't been through/haven't done.

I'm a writer, and very often I paint scenarios and tell stories that are either fictional or only partially based in reality as a way to express emotions.
I know this might sound dumb to some people, but, I want to know if this counts as "being fake" or not.

| Example:
I might talk about violence as a metaphor for my fight with mental illness, not because I've committed a lot of violence.
I might tell a story about fighting authority figures and cops to paint the picture of revolution in an anti-government song, not because I've actually done that.
I might tell stories about certain street shit, not because I've been directly involved in it but because I've seen it happening around me and with people I know and want to comment on it.

| I might write about a person and my relationship with that person, not because it's a real person or things I've done but because it's an easy way to explain certain emotions and concepts.

Are people able to understand that the "I" in a creative work isn't always referring to the person who wrote it and that some songs use fictional scenarios and characters to better give a feel for and express certain concepts, or are people just gonna think I'm claiming to do shit I don't?

| > Are people able to understand that the "I" in a creative work isn't always referring to the person who wrote it

Yes, and people who can't understand that are not worth worrying about.

| >>771427
That's what I've been thinking so far, but then I realized some people may be confused by it. Like, I have songs where I talk about shit that's actually happened to be and shit I've actually done, right next to stuff that's meant to be a metaphor. Idk. I probably shouldn't worry about it.